Ettrick & Yarrow Community Council AGM

Monday 30th May 2022, Boston Hall, Ettrick. 7.00pm

Present: Phil Grant (PG) (Chair), Miranda Alcock (MA) (Treasurer), (Secretary), John Davidson (JD), Gordon Harrison (GH) (Vice Chair), Alison Renwick (AR), Jane Telfer (JT), Nora Hunter (NH) (Returning Officer) and 6 members of public

1: Apologies: Barbara Harrison (BH), Jan Watson (JW), Fiona Hewson (FH), Karen O'Brien-Barrett KBB), Clive Whittington (CW), Councillor Caroline Cochrane (CC), Councillor Leagh Douglas, Councillor Thornton-Nicol,

2: Minute of previous AGM

The minute of the previous AGM held on 7th June 2021 via Zoom, was proposed as accurate by MA, seconded by GH and agreed.

3: Chair's Report

PG presented his report, which had been previously circulated. The report will be appended to this minute and circulated by e-mail to the community. He identified a number of issues facing the community that the community council had taken action on through the year, in particular flooding in the upper Ettrick valley, road traffic on the A708, and problems faced by the community during Tour o' the Borders cycle event. PG thanked Alistair Moody, Jan Watson, Gordon Harrison and Barbara Harrison, who were all stepping down from the community council following the AGM. He gave particular thanks to Gordon Harrison and Jan Watson, who had both been chairs of the community council in the past and had served on the community council for a number of years, and to Barbara Harrison, who had put in many hours as secretary to the community council, and had provided him and previous chairs with much valued advice and support. MA thanked PG for all his work as chair during the year.

4: Treasurers Report and Annual Accounts

MA presented the Annual Accounts which had been previously circulated. Overall the EYCC finances are healthy and we are due further wind farm funding, once the monies we already hold are spent. GH and MA gave some background to the wind farm fund for the benefit of the new councillors. GH proposed that the accounts presented were agreed and this was seconded by AR. MA was thanked for her work through the year managing the EYCC finances.

- **5:** Outcome of new community council election process and appointment of Chairperson Nora Hunter, returning officer for the recent community council election, chaired this item. She confirmed twelve new community councillors had been elected: Miranda Alcock, Alison Brodie, David Currie, John Davidson, Philip Grant, Kirsty Irving, Karen O'Brien Barrett, Paul Scott, Jane Telfer, Fiona Turnbull-Hewson, Clive Whittinghm and Elizabeth Williamson. The new councillors were invited to join the community council at this point. PG was proposed as Chair by JD and seconded by JT. PG thanked NH for her work as returning officer.
- **6: Appointment of Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.** This item and the rest of the agenda was chaired by PG. Kirsty Irving was proposed as Secretary by PG and seconded by MA, Alison Renwick was proposed as vice-chair by PG and seconded by JD, MA was proposed as Treasurer by PG and

seconded by JD. There being no other nominations these Office Bearers were confirmed. PG thanked all the new office bearers for agreeing to take on these roles.

6: SBC Code of Conduct for Community Councillors

All Community Councillors present confirmed that they agree to abide by this code. PG would email those not present and ask them to confirm that they would agree to abide by the code.

7: Appointment of Auditors

MA reported that Viv Ross has audited our accounts in the past and proposed that she is appointed to do so again for the 2022-23 financial year. It was noted by all that she does an excellent job. MA will thank her on behalf of the Community Council for her work.

8: A.O.C.B

None.

9: Date of Next AGM

The next AGM will be 5th June 2023. Venue will be agreed nearer the time.

